Health & Family Welfare Department
Government of Tamil Nadu

Department of Food Safety & Drug Administration (Food Safety Division)

click here for Food Licensing & Registration System (FLRS)

Food Safety Administration

1.1. Introduction:

The Government of India has enacted the Food Safety and Standards Act,2006 (34 of 2006) and it has come into force throughout the country from 5th August 2011 by repealing the Prevention of Food Adulteration Act 1954 and seven other orders specified in the Second Schedule of the Act 34 of 2006.

1.2. Creation of New Department:

The tasks of Food Administration and Drug Control are in many ways akin to each other and have synergy. They need greater co-ordination and integration of licensing procedures. The Government has therefore proposed to bring the Food Safety and Drug Control under one administration called the Food Safety and Drug Control Administration. Government has therefore issued orders for the formation of a new department called Food Safety and Drug Administration Department.

1.3. Appointment of Commissioner of Food Safety:

A Food Safety Commissioner in the rank of Commissioner and Secretary to Government has been appointed to the new department. On the Food Safety side, he will be assisted by the Director (Food Safety), a post filled by an Additional Director of Public Health and Preventive Medicine. The Commissioner of Food Safety will also supervise the functioning of the Director of Drug Control.

1.4. Appointment of Designated Officers (DOs):

32 Designated Officers have been appointed for all the 32 revenue districts to implement the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006. Supporting staff have been sanctioned for the formation of the office of the Designated Officer. In our State, Health Officers / Medical Officers have been appointed as Designated Officers.

1.5. Appointment of Food Safety Officers (FSOs):

385 Food Safety Officers at the rate of one for each block and 199 Food Safety Officers for the Municipalities and Municipal Corporations have been appointed for the implementation of the Food Safety and Standards Act 2006. These Food Safety Officers have been drawn from the cadre of Health Inspectors on the rural side and Sanitary Inspectors on the urban side who are qualified to be Food Safety Officers under the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006.

1.6. Appointment of Adjudicating Officers:

The District Revenue Officers (Additional District Magistrates) of each district have been appointed as the Adjudicating Officers under the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006. Adjudicating Officers have been appointed for all the 32 Revenue Districts.

1.7. Training:

All the 32 Designated Officers have been imported with training for 5 days on the provisions of the Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006 and the Rules and Regulations made thereunder. Similarly, training to all 32 Adjudicating Officers has been given for a period of 3 days on the said Act. This training has been given by the resource persons of Food Safety and Standards Authority of India. All the Food Safety Officers have also been given training on the provisions of the said Act and Rules.

1.8. Registration Certificates and Licenses:

As per the provisions of the Food Safety and Standards Regulations 2011, any Food Business Operator whose annual turnover exceeds Rs.12 lakh has to obtain License from the State or Central Authority as specified under the Act. Others get the Certificate of Registration. In Tamil Nadu, the Designated Officers will be the Licensing Authorities and Food Safety Officers are the Registering Authorities under the Act. Online Licensing / Registration started from June’2013.

List of Officials


SI. No. Name of the Officer Designation Email ID Phone Number Mobile Number Fax Number
1 Dr. P. Senthilkumar, I.A.S., Commissioner of Food Safety (FAC) 044-24350983
9445569797 044-24351014
2 Dr. K.C. Seran, MBBS., DPH., Dip., CH. Director & Addl. Commr. Of Food Safety 044-24350967 9344678317
3 Vacant Deputy Director GR.II
4 Thiru. N. Soundararajan (Diversion from DPH) Deputy Director (IM) 9962770778
5 Thiru. S. Elangovan Deputy Director (Admin) 9443487360
6 Tmt. R. Parimala Chief Accounts Officer 9282140673
7 Thiru. P. Muruganand Health Officer 9994859544
8 Thiru. C. Jaikumar APP. Gr-I 9944241010
9 Vacant APP. Gr-II
10 Vacant APP. Gr-II
11 Tmt. V. Uma Maheswari Administrative Officer 24310046 9444578499
12 Vacant Statistical Officer 24310096
Tamil Nadu Food Safety Appellate Tribunal
1 Thiru. R. Selvakumar Presiding Officer - Appellate Tribunal 9443874776
2 Vacant Registrar, Food Safety Appellate Tribunal
3 Tmt. S.E. Sivasangari APP. Gr-I - Appellate Tribunal 9092848741

Click Here for List of Designated Officers

Click Here for List of Food Safety Officers

List of Sanctioned Post in Food Safety Department

List of Sanctioned Post in Commissionerate

List of Sanctioned Post in Tamilnadu Food Safety Appellate Tribunal

List of Sanctioned Post in Designated Officers Office

List of Sanctioned Post in Food Analysis Laboratories

This information is only meant for guidance. Copying material from this website for mass circulation either by print or electronic versions is strictly prohibited.
The bribery is against the Law.The complaints about corruption may be sent to the Directorate of Vigilance and Anti -Corruption, Chennai-28. Website:  Phone No. 044-24615989/24615929/24615949.
Disclaimer   Copyright Health & Family Welfare Department, Government of Tamil Nadu, 2009. All Rights Reserved.
Maintaining by TNMSC Ltd. Visitors Count Counter